Subscribe to our Newsletter

Receive HTML?

Search this website

Translate to French

2010 Flight A Canadian National Team Championship PDF Print E-mail
by Judith and Nicholas Gartaganis

Every year the Canadian Bridge Federation hosts the Canadian Bridge Championships, eight full days of play to determine Canada’s national champions. The competition includes Open Pairs, Women’s Teams, Open Teams (Flight A Canadian National Team Championship [CNTC]), Flight B CNTC and Senior Teams. This year, the CBC was held May 29 to June 5 in Markham, Ontario. Thanks to the work of countless volunteers, the participants were treated to wonderful hospitality. Congratulations to the organizing committee for staging a most successful week of bridge. Winners of the various events were:

Open Pairs:
Naveed Ather, Lino D’Souza

IMP Pairs:
Richard Chan, Weidong Shen

Senior Teams:
Boris Baran, John Carruthers, John Gowdy, Eric Murray, Michael Schoenborn, Joey Silver

Women’s Teams:
Sondra Blank, Francine Cimon, Susan Culham, Kismet Fung, Pamela Nisbet, Isabelle Smith

Flight B CNTC:
Jack Lee, Brian Liu, Eric Pan, Zoran Pecca, Kelvin Raywood, Kai Zhou

Flight A CNTC Round Robin

Twenty-three teams entered the Flight A CNTC. A complete round robin of 10-board matches was played over four days to determine eight qualifiers for the quarter-finals. The World Bridge Federation 30 Victory Point (VP) scale was used with 25 VPs being the maximum a team could win and zero VPs, the minimum. Teams that tied each earned 15 VPs. The field included the betting line favourite, Hanna, whose roster boasted 20 individual CNTC wins.

To read this article click here and download PDF.